Cattaraugus County, New York Weather

By | July 22, 2023

According to, Cattaraugus County is a county located in the western part of New York state, with a population of 79,458 as of the 2010 census. The county seat is Little Valley. It is the fourth-largest county in New York by area and one of the most sparsely populated counties in the United States.

The county was created in 1808 from part of Genesee County and named after an Indian tribe that lived there at the time. The first settlers arrived in 1808 and began clearing land for farming. By 1812, Cattaraugus County had grown to include parts of Allegany and Chautauqua counties as well as its current boundaries.

Cattaraugus County is known for its natural beauty, with rolling hills, lush forests, rivers, streams, lakes and ponds. It is home to several state parks including Allegany State Park which offers camping, hiking trails and access to Lake Erie; Zoar Valley Multiple Use Area which offers boating, fishing and hunting; and Ellicottville State Park which features camping and cross-country skiing. There are numerous other recreational opportunities throughout the county such as golf courses, ski resorts and wildlife preserves.

The county also boasts several historical sites such as Allegany Museum which houses artifacts from Cattaraugus County’s past; Machias Historic Schoolhouse which was built in 1868; Little Valley Heritage Center which features exhibits on local history; and Seneca Nation Cultural Center which offers educational programs about Native American culture.

Famous people from Cattaraugus County include actor/comedian Chris Farley who was born in Salamanca; author/illustrator Maurice Sendak who grew up in Olean; former NFL quarterback Jim Kelly who grew up in East Aurora; actress Mia Farrow who was born on a reservation near Gowanda; singer/songwriter Jewel Kilcher who grew up on a farm near Delevan; actress Jane Krakowski who was born in Parsippany-Troy Hills Township; actor Chazz Palminteri who grew up on Olean’s Westside; and former NFL quarterback Doug Flutie who attended Maryvale High School outside of Cheektowaga.

Climate and weather in Cattaraugus County, New York

According to, Cattaraugus County, located in the western part of New York State, is known for its diverse and varied climate. The county is subject to all four seasons and experiences a wide range of weather conditions throughout the year. Due to its location in the northern hemisphere, summers tend to be warm and humid while winters are cold and snowy.

The spring season usually starts in late March or early April when temperatures begin to rise. Average highs during this time are typically around 50-60 degrees Fahrenheit (10-15 degrees Celsius) while overnight lows average around 30-40 degrees Fahrenheit (-1-4 degrees Celsius). April showers bring May flowers, so this season tends to be quite wet with an average of 15 inches (380 mm) of rain falling each month.

As summer approaches, temperatures begin to climb with average highs reaching into the low 80s (27-29 degrees Celsius). The humidity levels also increase as the season progresses, making it feel even hotter outside. June is usually the wettest month of summer with an average of 4 inches (102 mm) of rain falling during this time.

In fall, temperatures start to cool off again as autumn approaches with average highs dropping into the mid 60s (18-20 degrees Celsius). Overnight lows usually stay above freezing at around 40-50 degrees Fahrenheit (4-10 degrees Celsius). Rainfall is also reduced during this season with an average of 3 inches (76 mm) per month.

Finally, winter arrives in late November or early December when temperatures begin to plummet below freezing on a regular basis. Average highs during this time are typically between 20-30 degrees Fahrenheit (-6/-1 degree Celsius) while overnight lows often dip below zero on some nights. Snowfall is common during winter with an average monthly accumulation ranging from 8-12 inches (203 – 305mm).

Cattaraugus County experiences a wide range of weather conditions throughout the year due to its location in New York State and proximity to lakes Erie and Ontario. This makes it a great destination for outdoor activities such as camping, hiking, fishing and skiing depending on what season you visit.

Transportation in Cattaraugus County, New York

Cattaraugus County, New York is well-connected with a variety of transportation options available to residents and visitors. The county is served by the Buffalo Niagara International Airport, which provides direct flights to many major cities in the United States and Canada. The airport is located approximately 45 miles north of Cattaraugus County, making it an easy destination for air travelers.

In addition to air travel, Cattaraugus County has a reliable public transportation system that includes bus routes operated by the Jamestown Area Regional Transit System (JARTS). These buses provide service throughout the county as well as connections to other nearby areas such as Buffalo and Erie. Taxi services are also available in the county for those who prefer a private ride.

For those traveling by car, Cattaraugus County is accessible from several major highways including I-90, I-86, and U.S. Route 219. These highways provide direct access to cities like Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, and Albany from Cattaraugus County. There are also several smaller roads that connect towns within the county such as Route 16 and Route 17A.

Finally, rail service is provided by Amtrak’s Empire Service line which stops at three stations in Cattaraugus County: Gowanda Station in Gowanda; Ellicottville Station in Ellicottville; and Perrysburg Station in Perrysburg. This line connects passengers from these stations to major cities like New York City and Toronto via Buffalo or Niagara Falls respectively.

Cattaraugus County offers a wide range of transportation options for both its residents and visitors alike. Whether you’re looking for a quick trip across town or an extended journey across New York State or beyond, there’s something for everyone here.

Cities and towns in Cattaraugus County, New York

According to COUNTRYAAH.COM, Cattaraugus County, New York is home to several cities and towns that offer visitors a wide range of attractions and activities. The county seat is Little Valley, which is located in the center of the county and serves as the hub for government services. It also contains a variety of historic sites such as the Cattaraugus County Courthouse and the Little Valley Opera House.

The largest city in Cattaraugus County is Olean, located on the western side of the county. Olean is a major economic hub with many businesses, restaurants, and shops located throughout its downtown area. It also offers visitors attractions such as Allegany State Park, Rock City Park, and Bradner Stadium.

Other cities and towns in Cattaraugus County include Franklinville, which has an abundance of outdoor recreational opportunities; Ellicottville which has an active nightlife scene; Gowanda which is home to several historic sites; Salamanca which offers access to Seneca Allegany Casino; Machias which has beautiful scenery; Randolph which has plenty of outdoor activities; Delevan which boasts a vibrant arts community; and Yorkshire which features a number of wineries.

In addition to these cities and towns, Cattaraugus County also contains several smaller villages such as Arcade, Ashford, Holland, Humphrey, Leon, Perrysburg, Portville, South Dayton and Steamburg that offer visitors unique experiences away from larger urban areas.

Cattaraugus County is full of diverse cities and towns that have something for everyone to enjoy. From bustling downtowns to rural villages with stunning landscapes, there’s something here for everyone looking for an unforgettable experience in New York State.